Muchas Cosas

I think I´d better get used to surprises in General Conference. I can´t ever describe how it felt when the temple in Barranquilla was announced. I was in the ward where they bought the lot at the time and in the stake center of that ward, right there (I´m not going to get competitive with Grandpa, though. It´s not the area where I started, after all). The feeling when President Monson announced the temple in Barranquilla was like when he announced the change in age for missionaries. It´s directly personal, something that changes my life and my family.
First things first. I feel that what we´ve always lived, that a few sisters serve missions for some special desire or guidance, is over. Now I expect that the majority of the young women who really love the Lord will serve missions. They can now serve, return, and still be married by an early age. I expect Cassie and Beth will consider it, too, in a couple of years.
It´s not a big surprise that the young women are putting in mission papers already. The change in age limit for them is huge and really shows how important they are in this effort. I expect that the number of missionaries will increase dramatically over the next year.
I guess it´s possible that you can see what was the high point in my week. In the area, we´re a little bogged down in a Viper Cub, here, and just trying to find investigators. Might be a baptism this weekend, just depends on the interview, but it´s someone the last missionaries here left almost ready. We´re here to fill the font.
You commented that we´re close to Venezuela. It´s true: everybody sells contraband gas here that they bought over the line, cheap. There are also members of the Indian tribe Guayú, from La Guajira, who wear traditioinal clothes and worship little idols, but we really don´t see them much. We´re in the downtown and residential sections of the city, where there´s not much going on (other than buying and selling, obviously).
Anyway, that´s the smaller part of my record. The history of my people I will write on other plates and hide, so you can never see it until someone combine the two sets of plates in about four hundred years.
One last thing: how is Sister Ermer? I guess she´s in California. My regrets for her loss.
Y, pues, chao,
Elder Belú
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

