Socks, Shoes, and Shirts

Hi, people,
This week we started the real work of an assistant. We started arriving, by surprise, in missionaries´ houses and working with them. I worked with two companionships and my companion with two others. It´s a good way to motivate the missionaries and train them, although in a Zone Leader companionship I felt a little out of my league, or at least not sufficiently prepared to be able to train them. I did anyway, but it felt strange training zone leaders.
Next week we´re going to travel to other cities to do the same. The whole mission was going well until the week I arrived in the office, and then suddenly backslid. There were less baptisms in the mission last week than any week this year, but with a lot of follow up and work, things look better already.
This morning my package arrived from home, with nine pairs of beautiful socks and some Skittles. I never thought that new socks would make me so happy. I´m returning to decency again, with new shoes and new socks. I´m thinking about buying a couple of shirts, too, because the ones I have are all a little yellow. I know where to buy quality shirts, but they´re a little pricey (about twenty bucks). I´m thinking still. I also want a miniature copy of Preach My Gospel, which I can buy here but it´s about twenty five bucks. It would help a lot now, because when I have to travel to have splits with missionaries outside of Barranquilla, the copy I have is pretty inconveniente.
I´ll keep thinking about it. I still a about $90,000 in money from home, so there isn´t any great need right now. I´m pretty sure I´m going to buy the PME next week, which will also make me very happy.
I have pictures of the last two baptisms to send, but they´re in the other computer (I´m writing from the office), so I´m send them later.  I´m doing good, though, and will be writing in a week.
Elder Belú
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Maura Schofield Prince  On June 11, 2012 at 1:44 am

    I really enjoyed your letter this week Elder Belyeu, Especially about the new-found appreciation for new socks!
    Love, Aunt Maura

Leave a Reply

