The Streets of Colombia

Hi, peoples,
I have another new cousin? Que chevere! Gracias por comunicarmelo!
To answer Mom’s questions about Colombia, the streets aren´t very clean. There are places where the people have serious money and things are almost the same as the states, but the normal is dirty (the grey water dumps directly in the street). There were always hundreds of pigs in the mud in my first area, but where I am now is the richest part of the richest city in the coast. Not so many pigs.
There is a lot of pop culture. The signs in the stores have Pitúfos (I hear that there are Pitúfos in the states, but I never saw one) and Shrek. Shakira is obviously big news, too. There´s also a lot of stuff from the rap culture and the Colombian version of rap is pretty close to rap. Vallenato, Salsa, Regatón, and Champeta are bigger, though.
My week has been normal. Í´m really learning my area, now, and we´re having comp. exchanges more than before). Elder Palma is still with us, probably until tomorrow (there are midmonth transfers scheduled for tomorrow. I think it´s pretty likely that my companion Elder Alvarado is getting transferred this time, too). It´ll be nice to get out of the trio. I really don´t like working like this, because only two missionaries can teach in one lesson without ignoring the investigator.
One the other hand, new investigators attended church and enjoyed it. The work is going well in our area, just not in the zone. We´ve got three families that we´ve teaching, plus a few other people here and there.
Anyway, that´s the weekly report from Colombia. Love you all and I´m thinking of you, at least once every day.
Elder Belú
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • JD  On September 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Do the missionaries in Barranquilla ride bikes, and if not, how do they get around?

    • jonbelyeu  On October 4, 2011 at 11:16 am

      I’ve sent your question to Elder Belyeu and hope to get his answer next week!

    • jonbelyeu  On October 12, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      I’m not sure what Elder Belyeu meant about printing our emails out, but it sounds like he doesn’t have the emails with him when he writes home and he lost his notes. I’ll send him this question again and we’ll see if we can find out something more specific.

  • JD  On October 12, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Any chance to get an answer on my question if the missionaries ride bikes or not? Thanks,

  • jonbelyeu  On October 17, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Sorry about the delay–I still don’t know what happened last week! Here’s his answer:

    “In this mission, there are no bikes, by official order. They´re specifically and repeatedly forbidden, because bikes here are dangerous and would all be stolen. We use those things on the ends of our legs to get around. Oh, and buses and taxis. But more than anything, feet.”

  • JD  On October 26, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Thanks for your answer. My son just arrived yesterday in Barranquilla. He was the only one from the MTC the whole time he was there to go to Barranquilla. I suspect that there are not a lot of North Americans in the Barranquilla mission. I hope he can deal with the heat. I used to live in Puerto Rico and they have basically the same climate as Barranquilla and the heat is relentless.
    I am also assuming that none of the missionary apartments have air conditioning. We just used fans at night to keep cool in PR. Is that the case in Barranquilla as well?

  • Sheralyn Belyeu  On October 26, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    He hasn’t said a word about a/c in his own apartments, but specifically mentioned it when he moved to an area where the local people have it in their homes. Since so much of Colombia is mountainous, some parts are surprisingly cool year-round. Near the coast, I’m sure it’s more like PR.
    I don’t know how many missionaries there are from North America, but he was frustrated for a while because he wanted a native for a companion and kept getting “gringos.” He’s always the only red-head in the photos he posts.

  • jonbelyeu  On October 31, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    I think I know the son who just got here. It might very well be Elder Davidson, who is here my zone.

Leave a Reply

