Colombian Fruit

Hi, fambly,

Sounds like the tornadoes did a lot of damage at home. I saw something on TV in a little store today, but it´s not a big deal for the people here. Gringos dying in gringolandia doesn´t make the headlines unless it´s a whole lot of gringos. Let me know if the world ends while I´m here.

Does Jason have time to teach a class at CACC? That would be really cool, and he´s always wanted to teach. Somehow Jason as a college professor doesn´t seem all that strange. Dr. Durante-ish (and only Jason understands why I said that, maybe not even him). Jeffrey O. is looney, too.

The Eagle project is always harder than it looks. Joseph lost his binder with all his information; my work date fell through over and over. But, even this shall pass away.

A few people I´ve talked to have asked about the end of the world, and my name tag says ¨Ultimos Días¨. All-in-all, though, the Colombian way of thinking is fairly ¨eat, drink, and be merry¨. It´s pretty relaxed, until a bill comes due, or something. I guess that´s not all Colombians, just the ones we usually teach. The rich ones who understand these things don´t listen to the missionaries as well. In this, Colombia is like everywhere else in the world.

An investigator whose baptismal date fell through a few weeks ago (It wasn´t his fault, but these things happen.) told us last week that the family he was living with was throwing him out (I don´t understand why, something about them being lunatics.), and then he disappeared for days, without leaving a number to call or an address, just a comment that he wanted to go to Panama.

We finally ran into him in the street the other day. He found place where the owners pay him to live in a house at night, and leave during the day (it´s a pre-school, but tiny, built in a house). He has a pretty nice place, with internet, lights, water, everything. He can stick around now for his baptism, which should be this week, if we can pull off getting him to another interview. (He´s not real excited about that part, but has a strong testimony.)

We´re going to Barranquilla this Wednesday to attend a conference with the area president, Elder Nash. We´re encouraged to bring questions of the soul to ask him, and required to bring talks prepared on a couple of topics, just in case. I´m glad I´m not a zone leader; I´m sure they´re on the top of the hit list for talks. We have to meet in the stake center, about twenty minutes from here, Wednesday at five in the morning to take the bus to Barranquilla, so we´ll be hauling it out early.

I think I misspelled a fruit for you in the phone call the other day. It´s sapote, they tell me, not zapote. Other good one are mamones, maracuyá, manzano (not to be confused with manzana), granandilla, torombolo (I´m guessing on the spelling of that one), and mango. There´s at least one more, but I can´t remember what it´s called. It shouldn´t be used to make smoothies, is all I know. I can´t remember other things to say, but now I´m hungry again. I need to prove to my comp that there are kiwis here (they don´t grow here, apparently, but they are sold here).

A couple of people have said that I´m fat now. I´m not sure about that. I weighed myself the other day, and came out at 75 kilos, but I can´t remember how to convert that to pounds. About 165, I think, which is the same as before. I don´t guess you could find a simple conversion for kilos and send it to me, along with one for Celcius degrees. I know that 32 gravos is a pretty warm, but not more than that.

Chao, now. I don´t have anything more to say.

Elder Belú

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

