Three Weeks to Colombia

Hola, todo,

We studied preterit, imperfect, and progressive this past week and many things we’ve been saying started making sense for the first time. We’ve started spending part of each day only speaking Spanish, unless we really can’t say what we’re trying to say (which is less often than I expected it to be).

We got to hear from someone you may have heard of at the devotional this past Tuesday. He’s named Elder Jeffrey R. Holland. Familiar? He’s been my favorite speaker since October 2009, when He talked about the Book of Mormon and his testimony. Plus, I had the best seat I’ve had at a devotional since I got here.

We found out this week that our branch president here (a retired stockbroker) is pretty well off. He apparently owns a TV channel and once gave a million wheelchairs to the president of Peru. I hope to be great friends with him.

We had an interesting experience with obedience this week, as well. There has been a club in our zone, started by the district that we replaced when we came here, of gathering pretty much everyone together a couple of nights a week to read original poetry together. I never went, both because I didn’t have time to do that and get to bed on time (and neither did they) and because the instructions we were given when we came here said not to have group gatherings like that without approval from the branch presidency. I wasn’t sure if the presidency had been told or not, and I was afraid to ask. This weekend, however, they found out (they had not been asked, despite rumors that they had; I asked President Watkins to make sure) and forbade the club from meeting or writing poetry except on Preparation Day. There have been unkind feelings toward the presidency because of this, including in my district. Some people don’t respond the same way to authority, I guess.

On a more positive note, I am now in the oldest district in the zone, since the last older one left today. In three weeks, I’ll be going to Colombia.

I just want you to all know that I am already finding joy in the work and looking forward to the time that’s coming up, when I can do some real good. Yo se que in este obra, podemos ayudar otros a venir a Cristo, y encontrar gozo eterna. Yo estudiaba y oraba y yo se que este es la iglesia de Jesucristo, y digo estas cosas en Su nombre, el nombre de Jesucristo, amen.

Les amo mucho, y voy a verles en dos años,

Elder Belyeu

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

